The Fat Girl Clothing Dilemma

I have been invited out next Saturday night for a good old piss up to celebrate the 30th birthday of one of the mums in our “circle of mums” which is basically a small group of us who have a natter in the school yard before the kids go in and when we pick them up.

I haven’t been out drinking in years and I don’t drink so this could be messy fun!

The problem that I now have is that I have no clothes to wear out, I’m very much a jeans and hockey top kind of girl so I’m in a bit of a panic as the other mums were all on about wearing their LBD’s. They are also all much, much smaller in size than me – oh the joys of being the “fat friend” – and are all much more capable of finding lovely clothes to wear.

So today, after taking my daughter to a bounce house, I dragged her around all of the clothing shops in our town and found an amazing bargain on a pair of black boots from Dorothy Perkins – they were marked down from £60 to £7. SEVEN WHOLE POUNDS! That may be the bargain of my life so far! Annoyingly, whilst riding a bargain hunter high, I found shit all else on the racks – I tried a few things on but everything fit poorly, looked awful or was waaaaaaay to expensive for one night out on the town.

So now I’m stuck with not much time to go shopping (we are going away next week and I don’t think my family would appreciate being dragged around on a clothing hunt!) and very little confidence in finding something that will look acceptable.

They also started talking about their make-up and contouring. At this point I checked out completely as I never wear make up and have no fucking clue as to how to apply it. One of the mums was going on about this green stuff that you put on your face underneath this other stuff … what the hell would I want to do that for? Can you sweat make-up off? If so, will she look like she’s hulking out by the end of the night?

I was freaking out to my hubby about all of this earlier and he suggested meeting me at a local designer village not too far away after work tomorrow for a look around there. I’ve told him I’ll go but I’m not getting my hopes up that I’ll find anything, but I guess you never know…

Right well I guess it’s time for bed,

Remember you’re awesome!

Deb x

Leave a Reply

