Possibly the Best Thing in the World Ever!

So the new school year is fast approaching and our little terror is off into F2. This means that she will have to go to school in the morning for full days rather than the short afternoon stints that she has been doing for the last year and a half.

Are we excited? Hell yes! She can’t wait and because she’s so excited, I can’t wait either. I actually thought I’d be a blubbering mess over her leaving me for the full day but I’m quite excited for myself now too as I’m going to have a crack at running a little craft business from home which is something that I have always wanted to do since my mum and dad had their own business some years back. I’m not overly optimistic but my hubby says to give it a go (I’m a lucky girl landing him!) and my mum’s keen on me having a go too so their belief in me is giving me a bit of nerve to have a go!

Anyways, back to the point of this post…

We have always been consistent with Sophie-Anne’s bedtime. She has always gone to bed at 8pm as we have tended to have later starts to the day and this way she gets to spend time with her daddy before bed. The problems that we have encountered with bedtime is her lack of sleeping through the night to the point where I’m having to end up in her bed with her as I’m knackered when she calls me in, her thinking that the first ray of sunshine through her window means that it’s morning which then leaves her dragging later in the day and her having a strict wake up time as we have kind of left her to wake whenever she’s ready in the past due to her stop/start sleeping through the night.

I was thinking through this with regards to the new school year and decided that some kind of alarm clock would be a good thing to get her used to so after a bit of research with his colleagues, we decided to grab a Gro-Clock. The RRP on these bad boys is £34.99 but they are currently selling for £19.99 which I originally thought was a bit steep for a kids alarm clock but as of now, I would have been happy to pay the full price!

After a few days of stupidity (me turning the alarm off, the hub setting the alarm to pm rather than am etc.) we finally got it all set up properly and since then Soph has slept through every night, woken at the alarm and turned it off herself ready to start the day at 7:30. I asked her what she liked about the clock and she told me…

“I like that it has an alarm, I like that Mr. Sun winks at me to say goodnight and I like to see the stars go away because then I know it will be morning time.”

As of right now, this thing is possibly the best thing that we have ever bought for her and I’m wondering why we didn’t have one sooner! She really understands what the clock is for and when she does wake in the night now she just takes a look at it, see’s that it’s still night-time and settles herself back down … it’s brilliant and I hope that this continues as the school prep and run will be a doddle at this rate.

So yeah, if you’re in the same situation and are thinking of an alarm clock for your little one to wake up to then I’d highly recommend this one – it may be pricier than some other options but it’s cute, it’s easy for kids to set and understand and has worked so much better than we ever expected it would for Soph. I’ve also had nearly a solid week of uninterrupted sleep so this thing is truly awesome in my opinion right now!

Have a good one,

Deb xox

Leave a Reply

